FIFA are planning a new club World Cup which will start in 2021 and Ajax are set to be one of the 24 clubs involved. 

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

FIFA want to hold a tournament featuring 24 club teams from around the world which will be held in the summer every four years. It will replace the Confederations cup and current Club World Cup which features the winners of the UEFA, CONCACAF, AFC, CAF, OFC and CONMEBOL Champions Leagues.

The first edition will be held in 2021 with clubs invited on historical grounds and gaining €60 million each. The prize for the winner can reach €130-150 million.

Manchester United, Liverpool, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, AC Milan, Inter, Juventus, Ajax and Paris Saint-Germain are the 10 European nations said to be confirmed for the first tournament with an extra two to be picked from Manchester City, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Porto and Benfica. The other twelve clubs will be picked from around the world.

The tournament will run from June 10 to 28, containing eight groups of three teams, followed by a quarter-final, semi-final and final. No host nation has been decided but China is reportedly keen.

admin (7615 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter