Ajax picked up the Johan Cruijff Shield after coming from 2-0 behind to beat AZ Alkmaar 3-2 after extra time.

de jong 9After a goalless first half, it was the KNVB Cup winners, AZ Alkmaar who took the lead after 50 minutes, when Johann Berg Gudmundsson finished prefectly, after being teed up on the edge of the box by Aron Johannsson.

On 67 minutes, it was 2-0 to AZ, with Aron Johannsson tapping into the net, after Beerens shot was cleared off the line by Toby Alderweireld.

However a minute later, Ajax were right back into the match, when Christian Eriksen’s free kick deflected off Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, and into the net for an own goal, on the defenders debut.

At 75 minutes, Kolbeinn Sigthorsson forced extra time, when he bundled home, after goalkeeper Esteban failed to hold onto a long range effort from Alderweireld.

In extra time, it was a case of captain fantastic for Ajax, as Siem de Jong netted the winner, heading home at the back post from Christian Eriksen’s deep cross.

Ajax win their first Johan Cruijff shield for six years, and the first under the leadership of Frank de Boer, who had lost the last previous 3 matches.

The positive for AZ Alkmaar, will be that their new look side handled themselves well against the Eredivisie champions, and they should be a major contender for European places.

For Ajax, they will look to achieve something that no club has done since 2001, win the Johan Cruijff shield, and the title in the same year.

admin (7411 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter