All you need to know about the draw for the EURO 2020 Qualifiers which takes place this Sunday and who Netherlands could come up against.

The draw for Euro 2020 which takes place all around Europe, including in Amsterdam, takes place on Sunday at 11 am GMT in Dublin.

After reaching the last four of the Nations League, Netherlands will be among the top seeds for the draw and will also be placed into one of the 5-nation group’s instead of a 6-nation group. The Netherlands, Portugal, England and Switzerland will be placed between Group A and E.

The top two nations from each group qualify directly for the tournament The four other nations will be decided through playoffs based on results from the Nations League.

The qualifying pots

UEFA Nations League pot: Netherlands *, Portugal *, England *, Switzerland * 
Pot 1: Poland, Spain, France, Belgium, Italy and Croatia 
Pot 2: Germany, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina *, Ukraine *, Denmark *, Sweden *, Austria, Wales, Russia and the Czech Republic 
Pot 3: Slovakia, Turkey, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland *, Norway *, Serbia *, Finland *, Bulgaria and Israel 
Pot 4: Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania and Georgia * 
Pot 5: Macedonia *, Kosovo *, Belarus *, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar and Faroe Islands 
Pot 6: Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta and San Marino

*These nations are guaranteed at least a playoff spot after winning their Nations League groups.

Restrictions for the draw

UEFA have confirmed that more than two of the nations which will host Euro 2020 cannot be paired together in the same group. The nations affected are England, Spain, Italy, the Netherlands, Azerbaijan, Scotland, Ireland, Germany Denmark, Hungary, Russia and Romania

For political reasons, Spain cannot meet Gibralter, while Kosovo will avoid Serbia and Bosnia-Herzegovina.

More than two countries with severe weather conditions cannot be drawn in the same group. The nations affected by this are Belarus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Russia and Ukraine.


Which nations do Netherlands want to avoid?

As a top seed, Netherlands will avoid all the nations from pot 1, but after a poor Nations League, Germany finds themselves in pot two and could be drawn in the same group as Koeman’s men. In pot 3, Serbia are a dangerous nation that Oranje will also want to avoid, while Netherlands have bad memories of Iceland, Czech Republic and Turkey due to their last Euro qualifying group.

Potential group of death: Netherlands, Germany, Serbia, Greece, Kosovo

When do the qualifiers start?

The qualifiers get underway at the end of March 2019 and run to the 19th of November. Netherlands will miss the qualifying round in June due to the semi-finals for the UEFA Nations League.

Netherlands have two chances to qualify

Netherlands are eager to return to a major tournament and their Nations League group win means they have a great chance of reaching the tournament.

Should they fail to finish in the top two of their group, they go into a playoff for four other nations from Group 1 for one last place.

Currently, the four nations that would be in the playoffs are Netherlands, Switzerland, England and Portugal. However, this would change if the nations qualify automatically for the tournament. Should Netherlands reach the tournament automatically, then their playoff spot will be given to the next best performing nation in the division. Should all the nations qualify from Division A, the place would go to a Division B nation.

admin (7418 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter