The Champions League group stage begins on Tuesday with Feyenoord the only Dutch club involved. However, 37 Dutch players will take part in the competition.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

Feyenoord get underway on Wednesday, hosting Manchester City at De Kuip. The Rotterdam club are contributing 20 Dutch players to the competition but a further 17 will be in action for other clubs.

The other’s being Rick Karsdorp, Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Boy de Jong (Anderlecht), Terence Kongolo (AS Monaco), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Lorenzo Ebecilio, Boy Waterman  APOEL Nicosia), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool), Ricky van Wolfswinkel (FC Basel), Jasper Cillessen (Barcelona), Bas Dost (Sporting Lisbon), Jeremain Lens, Ryan Babel (Besiktas), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Michel Vorm (Tottenham Hotspur) and Dorus de Vries (Celtic).

There will also be two Dutch coaches in the competition, with Giovanni van Bronckhorst leading Feyenoord and Peter Bosz in charge of Borussia Dortmund.

Netherlands contribute the same number of players as England, but are far behind Spain who has the most at 113. Hopefully, a Dutchman will go further than last year, with both Robben and Cillessen both knocked out in the quarter finals.

Who will be the last Dutchman standing in the Champions League? Let us know in the comments section below.

admin (14144 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter