There is now only five players in the running for this year’s Golden Boy award with Matthijs de Ligt and Justin Kluivert within touching distance of the prestigious award. 

Italian newspaper Tuttosport, who give out the award, announced the final five for the award on Tuesday with the shortlist now only consisting of De Ligt (Ajax), Kluivert (AS Roma), Patrick Cutrone (AC Milan), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool) and Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid).

A select group of football journalists will decide which talent will ultimately win with the Golden Boy Award. The winner will be announced on the 17th of December. 

Rafael van der Vaart is the only Dutchman to have picked up the award before, back in 2003, while Kylian Mbappe was last year’s winner. Mbappe was originally the favourite again but he has been omitted from the top five as he is in the running for the Ballon d’Or.

admin (7436 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter