Ahead of the crucial September Euro2020 qualifiers, Netherlands trainer Ronald Koeman has decided upon his final squad, whittling five names from his initial provisional selection.

  • by Michael Statham
  • Follow Michael on Twitter @EredivisieMike

The Netherlands play Germany on Friday, 6th September, followed by another away fixture to Estonia on Monday, 9th September.

Koeman will take 24 men to both matches, having dropped five players from his initial selection: Marco Bizot, Terence Kongolo, Hans Hateboer, Donny van de Beek and Wout Weghorst. All are down to Koeman’s preference, except for Ajax midfielder van de Beek, who is currently out injured.

That means a first cap may well be on offer for PSV’s young striker Donyell Malen. Another notable call-up is for in-form Feyenoord winger Steven Berghuis.

Netherlands squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen, Kenneth Vermeer, Jeroen Zoet

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt, Nathan Aké, Daley Blind, Virgil van Dijk, Denzel Dumfries, Matthijs de Ligt, Joel Veltman, Stefan de Vrij

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong, Davy Propper, Marten de Roon, Kevin Strootman, Tonny Vilhena, Georginio Wijnaldum

Forwards: Steven Berghuis, Steven Bergwijn, Donyell Malen, Luuk de Jong, Memphis Depay, Quincy Promes

Michael Statham (812 Posts)

Writer/interviewer/YouTuber for Football-Oranje. Massive Dutch football fan from the UK. Follow me @EredivisieMike & subscribe to Football-Oranje on YouTube.