Three goals in seven first-half minutes saw Groningen record a 4-2 win over PSV Eindhoven in the Euroborg.

After the loss to Arsenal on Thursday, Ruud van Nistelrooy brought Jordan Teze and Awar El Ghazi into the starting eleven. Erick Gutierrez and Phillip Mwene dropped out.

Guus Til once again started in attack and he had two good chances early on but could not find a way past Groningen goalkeeper Jan de Boer, who was making his debut.

In the 39th minute, Groningen had the lead when Cyril Ngonge took advantage of some poor defending from Armando Obispo. The forward’s strike was kept out by Walter Benitez but Ricardo Pepi netted the rebound.

That started an extraordinary period before the break which saw Radinio Balker head in a second before Ngonge found the corner to make it 3-0. There was still time for Ibrahim Sangare to net a Cody Gakpo cross to make it 3-1.

Van Nistelrooy swapped El Ghazi for Noni Madueke at the break and eventually Luuk de Jong also came on. However, Gakpo hit the bar with a header, while Xavi Simons and De Jong also went close.

Til made it 3-2 from a Gakpo cross in the 76th minute and shortly afterward a De Jong header crashed off the bar.

PSV pushed for the equaliser but Groningen netted a fourth in injury time through Joey Pelupessy, who rammed the ball into the net from close range.

Groningen jumps out of the relegation zone into 14th, while PSV is second and four points off Ajax.

admin (14500 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter