Netherlands coach Guus Hiddink has named a 30-man provisional squad for next months European Championship qualifiers against Kazakhstan and Iceland.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

sven van beek assjhAfter starting the qualifiers with a 2-1 loss to Czech Republic it is crucial the Dutch get back on track next month when they host Kazakhstan on October 10th and then travel to Iceland three days later.

Feyenoord defender Sven van Beek is called up for the first time, while Davy Propper, Quincy Promes and Kenneth Vermeer are all back in contention, while Arjen Robben returns after missing last month’s internationals.

PSV winger Memphis Depay, Aston Villa defender Ron Vlaar and Hamburg midfielder Rafael van der Vaart are the big names missing from the squad due to injuries.

Full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax Amsterdam), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord Rotterdam), Jeroen Zoet (PSV Eindhoven)

Defenders: Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV Eindhoven), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Bruno Martins Indi (Porto), Erik Pieters (Stoke City), Sven van Beek (Feyenoord Rotterdam), Gregory van der Wiel (Paris St Germain), Virgil van Dijk (Celtic), Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg), Joel Veltman (Ajax Amsterdam)

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Olympiakos), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord Rotterdam), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Leroy Fer (Queens Park Rangers), Davy Klaassen (Ajax Amsterdam), Davy Propper (Vitesse Arnhem), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Luciano Narsingh (PSV Eindhoven), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Robin van Persie (Manchester United)

Hiddink will cut his squad to 23 in the next few weeks.

admin (14493 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter