The KNVB Cup first round got underway on Tuesday night with plenty of shocks and scares for the Dutch top flight and second division sides.

RKC Waalkwijk 2-0 NAC Breda

After four straight defeats in the Eredivisie, NAC Breda are also out of the cup after losing a Brabant derby against RKC.

NAC hit the woodwork twice through Mitchell Te Vrede and Gervane Kastaneer before RKC took the lead before the break through Nikki Baggerman. Two minutes into the second half, Dylan Seys fired in a free-kick to seal the win for the hosts.

AFC 5-0 Telstar

Amateur side AFC humiliated Keuken Kampioen Divisie side Telstar to reach the next round.

Fouad Belarbi gave the hosts the lead in the first half before Yordi Teijsse doubled the lead just after the hour-mark.

Kulhan, Milan Hoek and Tim Linthorst added further goals as the amateurs ran out 5-0 winners. Telstar ended the game with ten men after a red card for Toine van Huizen.

Excelsior 2-3 NEC Nijmegen

Excelsior are out of the cup after an extra-time loss to NEC Nijmegen.

Excelsior seemed on their way to a comfortable win when a Luigi Bruins penalty and an own goal by Robin Buwalda put them 2-0 up by the 24th minute. However, Anass Achahbar pulled one back from the penalty spot and with ten minutes to go, the visitors were awarded another spot kick. Sven Bracken scored and forced extra time.

Marcus Edwards was then sent off and in extra time, Guus Joppen put NEC into the next round.

Helmond Sport 0-5 Fortuna Sittard

André Vidigal scored a hattrick as Fortuna Sittard eased into the next round. Lars Hutten netted the other two for the Eredivisie side.

VVSB 3-3 (p) De Graafschap

10-man De Graafschap needed penalties to see off amateur side VVSB and book their place in the next round.

Tommy Bekooij gave the hosts the lead in the 22nd minute and De Graafschap were then reduced to ten men when Robert Klaasen was shown a red card. Despite being down to ten men, Myenty Abena equalised before the break.

Leroy Owusu put De Graafschap ahead but two minutes later, Bekooij netted his second to take the game to extra time. Lulinho Martins put VVSB ahead four minutes into extra-time but Frank Olijve took the game to penalties.

De Graafschap kept their nerve from the spot to book their place in the second round.

Noordwijk 3-2 Sparta Rotterdam

Amateur side Noordwijk came from behind to knock Sparta Rotterdam out of the Cup.

Denzel James had given the hosts an early lead but a double from Abdou Harroui put Sparta ahead before the half-hour mark.

Sparta remained in front until the 52th minute when Raies Roshanali equalised and with 10 minutes to go, Sabir Akachau-Achefay fired Noordwijk into the second round.

Den Bosch 1-2 Heracles

Heracles Almelo came from behind to defeat Den Bosch thanks to a double from Vincent Vermeij.

Stefan Velkov had given the hosts the lead in the 11th minute, but Vermeij equalised a minute later before netting the winner in the second half.

Volendam 1-2 Willem II

Fran Sol scored the winning goal as Willem II edged into the second round at the expense of Volendam.

Donis Avdijaj gave Willem II the lead after only four minutes but Martijn Kaars equalised for the hosts. Three minutes into the second half, Sol restored Willem II’s lead and they held on to reach the next round.

Westlandia 0-3 VVV Venlo

VVV Venlo eased into the second round after a comfortable win over amateur side Westlandia.

West Ham loanee Martin Samuelson was the star for the Eredivisie side, scoring twice before the hour mark before Christian Kum added the third in the 65th minute.

Other results: DVS’33 0-6 Roda JC, Koninklijke HFC 4-0 Harkemase Boys, Go Ahead Eagles 2-0 FC Eindhoven, Almere City 1-0 Dordrecht, ODIN’59 1-0 Lisse, Spakenburg 3-0 DFS, Kozakken Boys 3-1 ONS Sneek, Rijnsburgse Boys 1-1 (p) Oss, Scheveningen 2-3 (AET) Cambuur

admin (7629 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter