The first round of the KNVB Cup continued on Wednesday evening with Ajax, Heerenveen, Vitesse and PEC Zwolle all recording victories. 

HVV Te Werve 0-7 Ajax

A much-changed Ajax side put seven goals past amateur side HVV Te Werve to book their place in the next round.

Erik ten Hag handed Perr Schuurs, Ryan Gravenberch and Mitchell Bakker their first starts for the club and the former fired Ajax in front from the edge of the box on ten minutes. Kasper Dolberg then doubled the lead before Donny van de Beek fired in the third on the half-hour mark. Before the break, Zakaria Labyad made it 4-0.

Labyad added his second on the hour mark before substitute Jurgen Ekkelenkamp scored his first goal for the first-team with a strike from close range.

With eight minutes left, 16-year-old Gravenberch made history by making it 8-0 and becoming the youngest ever goalscorer for Ajax.

Katwijk 0-1 (AET) Heerenveen

An extra-time goal by Sam Lammers prevented Heerenveen from embarrassment at Katwijk.

Michel Vlap and Marco Rojas missed good chances for Heerenveen in the first half, while after the break, talented midfielder Jordy Bruijn hit the bar.

A winner could not be found and extra-time was needed. Just before penalties, Lammers found himself in space and fired Heerenveen into the next round.

RKAV Volendam 1-2 Vitesse

Vitesse Arnhem made plenty of changes for the trip to Volendam but achieved a straightforward win.

Maikel van der Werff fired in the opener after fifteen minutes before Oussama Darfalou slotted in a Max Clarke cross to make it 2-0 at the break.

Late in the second half, Nick Tol spotted Remko Pasveer off his line and chipped in an excellent goal for the hosts but it proved to be nothing but a consolation.

Staphorst 0-1 PEC Zwolle

Vito van Crooij’s first-half goal was enough to send PEC Zwolle into the next round. The winger found the net with a deflected effort.

Staphorst were denied an equaliser by the post while Van Crooij and Mike van Duinen missed big opportunities to make it 2-0.

DOVO 2-2 (4-5 on penalties) Urk, Groene Star 2-1 TEC, VV Eemdijk 1-4 ASWH

admin (7466 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter