The quarter-finals of the KNVB Cup continued on Wednesday with Cambuur and AZ Alkmaar booking their place in the final four.

Utrecht 2-2 Cambuur (6-7 on penalties)

Cambuur have reached the semi-finals of the KNVB Cup for the first time in their history after a stunning penalty shoot-out win over Utrecht.

The Eerste Divisie side, who knocked out Ajax earlier in the competition, fell behind on the half hour mark when Ramon Leeuwin headed in a corner. However, after the break Cambuur were awarded a penalty for a foul by Yassin Ayoub and Erik Bakker netted from the spot to equalise.

Martijn Barto stunned the home crowd by giving Cambuur the lead on 67 minutes and moments later it was nearly 3-1 with Stefano Lilipaly shot almost surprising David Jensen. Utrecht thought they were awarded a penalty on 75 minutes when referee Pol van Boekel pointed to the spot for a handball, but after consulting with the video referee, he went back on his decision.

Utrecht then hit the post through Nacer Barazite as time began to run out, but in the final minutes right-back Giovanni Troupee equalised and ensured the game went to extra time. However, Utrecht couldn’t find the winner in the extra thirty minutes and Cambuur triumphed on penalties after a decisive miss by Kristoffer Peterson.

AZ Alkmaar 1-0 Heerenveen

Derrick Luckassen scored the only goal as AZ Alkmaar reached the last four of the KNVB Cup for the fifth time in six seasons.

Martin Odegaard was handed his first start by Heerenveen and he came close to netting the opener on 15 minutes, but his strike was denied by Sergio Rochet. As the first half wore on it was AZ who took charge with Wout Weghorst having an effort blocked, while Ridgeciano Haps and Stijn Wuytens saw their shots saved by Erwin Mulder.

Heerenveen started the second half brightly with Odegaard particularly impressing, but they failed to take their chances and with 20 minutes left a wicked Dabney Dos Santos corner was headed in at the back post by Derrick Luckassen. Heerenveen could muster no comeback as AZ comfortably held on.

AZ Alkmaar and Cambuur join Sparta Rotterdam in the final four, while Vitesse and Feyenoord face off on Thursday for the final spot.

admin (14436 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter