Ronald Koeman has revealed his provisional Netherlands squad for the upcoming friendlies with England and Portugal. Seven players make their first appearance in an Oranje squad.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

Koeman was finally announced as the new Netherlands head coach in February and is preparing a new era of Oranje heading into the UEFA Nations League later this year. His first match takes place on the 23rd of March against England in Amsterdam before travelling to Portugal three days later.

With Wesley Sneijder announcing his retirement last week, his place as the veteran in midfield is taken by Club Brugge’s Ruud Vormer. The former Feyenoorder was recently named player of the year in Belgium and at 29 gets his first call-up.

Also involved for the first time are Steven Bergwijn (PSV), Justin Kluivert (Ajax), Hans Hateboer (Atalanta), Guus Til, Wout Weghorst and Marco Bizot (All AZ). However, there is no place for PSV trio Marco van Ginkel, Jorrit Hendrix and Bart Ramselaar, while Joel Veltman (Ajax) and Jurgen Locadia (Brighton) also miss out.

Koeman will name his final squad a week on Friday.

The full 33-man squad is as follows.

Goalkeepers: Marco Bizot (AZ), Jasper Cillessen (Barcelona), Sergio Padt (FC Groningen), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Nathan Aké (AFC Bournemouth), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (VfL Wolfsburg), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Timothy Fosu-Mensah (Crystal Palace), Hans Hateboer (Atalanta Bergamo), Daryl Janmaat (Watford), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax), Karim Rekik (Hertha BSC), Kenny Tete (Olympique Lyon),

Midfield: Donny van de Beek (Ajax), Davy Pröpper (Brighton & Hove Albion), Marten de Roon (Atalanta Bergamo), Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Guus Til (AZ), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Ruud Vormer (Club Brugge), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Attackers: Ryan Babel (Besiktas), Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Steven Bergwijn (PSV), Memphis Depay (Olympique Lyon), Bas Dost (Sporting Lisbon), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Justin Kluivert (Ajax), Quincy Promes (Spartak Mosow), Wout Weghorst (AZ)

admin (14397 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter