Danny Blind has confirmed his Netherlands squad for the upcoming friendlies with Republic of Ireland, Poland, and Austria. 

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

strootman nethBlind has recalled Roma midfielder Kevin Strootman who has recently recovered from a long-term injury while Wesley Sneijder comes back into the squad having been missing from the pre-selection.

Utrecht midfielder Bart Ramselaar is named in the squad for the first time while there can be debuts for Tonny Vilhena and Jurgen Locadia.

Manchester United defender Timothy Fosu-Mensah misses out on the squad through a minor injury, while Vurnon Anita, Jordy Clasie, Rick Karsdorp, Timo Letschert Erik Pieters and Karim Rekik also drop out.

Netherlands face Republic of Ireland on the 27th of May, Poland on the 1st of June, and Austria on the 4th of June. The players travel to Portugal this Sunday for a training camp.

Full squad is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Sunderland), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV), Virgil van Dijk  (Southampton), Kenny Tete (Ajax), Joël Veltman (Ajax), Ron Vlaar (AZ), Jetro Willems (PSV)

Midfielders: Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Marco van Ginkel (PSV), Davy Pröpper (PSV), Bart Ramselaar (FC Utrecht), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum ( Newcastle United)

Attackers: Memphis Depay (Manchester United), Bas Dost (VfL Wolfsburg), Vincent Janssen (AZ), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Jürgen Locadia (PSV), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow)

admin (14403 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter