Netherlands U21 boss Adrie Koster has named his 31-man provisional squad for next months European Championships play-off against Portugal.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

2015 UEFA U21 Championship qualifier - "Holland U21 v Georgia U21"After losing to both Slovakia and Georgia earlier this month, Netherlands U21’s finished 2nd in their qualifying group which meant they were unseeded for the play-off draw. If Netherlands are to be at next summer’s tournament in Czech Republic they will need to overcome Portugal, who won every game during their group campaign.

Koster has named a strong squad for the ties, but he will be without midfielder and captain Marco van Ginkel who suffered an ankle injury during his AC Milan debut on Tuesday. Also missing are Ajax midfielder Davy Klaassen, Feyenoord defender Sven van Beek and Spartak Moscow winger Quincy Promes who have all been named in the full Netherlands squad, They could all drop down to the U21’s if Guus Hiddink cuts them from his squad.

Despite the loss of these stars there are a number of big names included like PSV’s Adam Maher and Karim Rekik, along with Twente striker Luc Castaignos, Heerenveen’s Daley Sinkgraven, Ajax’s Anwar El Ghazi and Twente’s Hakim Ziyech.

The full squad is:

Goalkeepers: Warner Hahn (PEC Zwolle), Mickey van der Haart (Go Ahead), Sonny Stevens (Twente), Nigel Bertrams (PSV)

Defenders: Joost van Aken (Heerenveen), Karim Rekik (PSV), Jetro Willems (PSV), Nathan Ake (Chelsea) Mike te Wierik (Heracles) Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Ruben Ligeon (Ajax), Dico Koppers (Twente), Lucas Bijker (Cambuur), Joshua Brenet (PSV), Mike van der Hoorn (Ajax)

Midfielders: Jorrit Hendrix (PSV), Yassine Ayoub (Utrecht), Hakim Ziyech (Twente), Daley Sinkgraven (Heerenveen), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Jesper Drost (PEC Zwolle), Mustafa Saymak (PEC Zwolle), Kyle Ebecilio (Twente), Adam Maher (PSV)

Forwards: Luc Castaignos (Twente), Jurgen Locadia (PSV), Jean Paul Boetius (Feyenoord), Guus Hupperts (AZ), Luciano Slagveer (Heerenveen), Anwar El Ghazi (Ajax), Elvis Manu (Feyenoord)

admin (14397 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter