PSV Eindhoven have sealed their 22nd Eredivisie title after beating Heerenveen 4-1 in the Phillips Stadion.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

0 depay titeheePSV have been the team too beat since the beginning of the season, and they finally ended Ajax’s strangle hold, and their seven year wait to get their hands on the Eredivisie Schaal.

A win over Heerenveen was needed to seal the championship, and they got off to an excellent start as Luuk de Jong headed Luciano Narsingh’s cross past Kristoffer Nordfeldt in the third minute. It was 2-0 after 24 minutes with Memphis Depay netting his 2oth league goal of the season with a stunning free kick which flew into the top corner, and it seemed PSV were strolling to the title.

However Heerenveen gave PSV something to think about just before the half hour mark when Joey van den Berg pulled one back from close range, and minutes later Mark Uth missed a good chance to equalise. The pressure on PSV was eased by Luuk de Jong who rose at the back post to head Depay’s cross into the ground and then the net to put the home side 3-1 up at the break.

PSV created several chances to kill the game in the second half, and they finally did with minutes left as De Jong’s ball across the box was finished by Luciano Narsingh.

The full time whistle was met with wild celebrations by the PSV fans and players as they celebrated their first title since 2007-08.


admin (14392 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter