Erwin van de Looi has named his provisional Netherlands U21 squad for the upcoming European Championship qualifiers with Ukraine and Latvia.

Jong Oranje need a miracle to reach the European Championships after drawing to England and losing at home to Scotland during the last international period. For the upcoming games with Ukraine and Latvia, van de Looi is looking to the future and has selected six new faces in his provisional squad.

Maarten Paes (FC Utrecht), Perr Schuurs (Ajax), Tyrell Malacia (Feyenoord), Sherel Floranus (SC Heerenveen), Kaj Sierhuis (Ajax) and Javairo Dilrosun (Hertha BSC) are all included for the first time. Dilrosun’s inclusion is well deserved with the winger scoring twice and contributing three assists in his first four games of the season.

Justin Bijlow, Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Pablo Rosario, Arnaut Danjuma Groeneveld and Steven Bergwijn have all been included in the main Oranje provisional squad but could drop into the U21’s if not selected.

The squad will be whittled down next week.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Yanick van Osch, Indy Groothuizen, Maarten Paes.

Defenders: Denzel Dumfries, Kevin Diks, Jeremiah St. Juste, Sherel Floranus, Perr Schuurs, Rick van Drongelen, Justin Hoogma, Tyrell Malacia, Thomas Ouwejan.

Midfielders: Juninho Bacuna, Carel Eiting, Guus Til, Bart Ramselaar, Teun Koopmeiners, Michel Vlap, Ferdi Kadioglu.

Attackers: Javairô Dilrosun, Jay-Roy Grot, Oussama Idrissi, Kaj Sierhuis, Sam Lammers, Richairo Zivkovic, Donyell Malen.

admin (7629 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter