Sparta Rotterdam are back in the Eredivisie after a 2-0 win at De Graafschap.

De Graafschap looked on course to remain in the Eredivisie after they sealed a 2-1 win in Rotterdam but Sparta would not give up.

Both sides went close in the first-half with Abdou Harroui and Laros Duarte firing wide for Sparta, while Nabil Bahoui just couldn’t reach a Furdjel Narsingh cross at the other end.

Sparta knew they needed two goals at least in the second half but it was De Graafschap who created the early chances. Youssef El Jebli headed over, while Charlison Benschop was denied by Tim Coremans.

In the 74th minute, Sparta found the lead when Halil Dervisoglu tapped in on the rebound after Nigel Bertrams denied Lars Veldwijk twice. Ten minutes later, Sparta got their crucial second goal as Adil Auassar headed past Bertrams.

Sven Nieuwpoort got a great chance to take the game into extra-time but Sparta Rotterdam held on to seal their Eredivisie return. De Graafschap join Excelsior and NAC Breda in the Keuken Kampioen Divisie.

admin (12051 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter