The Golden Boy award nominations have been revealed with three players based in the Eredivisie up for the prestigious prize.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

vilhenaItalian newspaper Tuttosport give out the award, and revealed the forty nominees to win the prize for being the best player under the age of 21 in Europe.

Included are Ajax star Viktor Fischer, Feyenoord midfielder Tonny Vilhena, and PSV Eindhoven’s Adam Maher, but they face stiff competition by a number of big names.

The full list of nominees are:

Richmond Boakye (Elche), Emre Can (Bayer Leverkusen), Yannick Ferreira Carrasco (Monaco), Sebastian Cristoforo (Sevilla), Lucas Digne (PSG), Victor Fischer (Ajax), Fred (Shakhtar), Serge Gnabry (Arsenal), Mauro Icardi (Inter), Juan Iturbe (Verona), Geoffrey Kondogbia (Monaco), Mateo Kovacic (Inter), Diego Laxalt (Bologna), Nico Lopez (Udinese), Adam Maher (PSV), Lazar Markovic (Benfica), Alexsandar Mitrovic (Anderlecht), Mbaye Niang (AC Milan), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Brayan Perea (Lazio), Juan Fernando Quintero (Porto), Josip Radosevic (Napoli), Rafinha (Celta Vigo), Ante Rebic (Fiorentina), Yaya Sanogo (Arsenal), Tiago Ilori (Liverpool), Oliver Torres (Atletico Madrid), Tony Vilhena (Feyenoord), Vitinho (CSKA Moscow), Florian Thauvin (Marseille), Jese Rodriguez (Real Madrid), Marquinhos (PSG), Matija Nastasic (Manchester City), Bruma (Galatasaray), Adnan Januzaj (Manchester United), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea/Everton), Julian Draxler (Schalke), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Juventus)

The award started in 2003 and has been won by such names as Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Mario Gotze, and last years winner Isco. Only one Dutchman has ever won the award, with Rafael van der Vaart named the first ever Golden Boy.

admin (14304 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter