Nathan Ake, Karim Rekik, and Kyle Ebecilio have all pulled out of the Netherlands squad for this months European U-19 Championships.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow @MichaeljBell09 on Twitter

ebecilioThe trio’s absence will come as a huge blow for coach Wim van Zwam, who will name his final 18 man squad for the finals, after a two day training session between the 10th and 12th of July.

Ebecilio has just joined FC Twente from Arsenal, Rekik is set to move on loan to PSV Eindhoven, and Ake is rumoured to be loaned out from Chelsea to Vitesse. The trio are hoping to complete pre-season with their clubs instead of taking part in the tournament.

The trio will not be replaced in the squad by Van Zwam, who will now only have to cut one player from his squad, before the tournament starts.

The now 19 man selection is as follows:

Anass Achahbar (Feyenoord), Yassine Ayoub (FC Utrecht), Bilal Basacikoglu (sc Heerenveen), Sven van Beek (Feyenoord), Michael Chacon (sc Heerenveen), Brahim Darri (Vitesse), Huseyin Dogan (Sparta Rotterdam), Danzell Gravenberch (Ajax), Mickey van der Hart (Ajax), Sander Heesakkers (PSV), Wesley Hoedt (AZ), Menno Koch (PSV), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Peter Leeuwenburgh (Ajax), Mimoun Mahi (Sparta Rotterdam), Roy Talsma (Vitesse), Kenny Tete (Ajax), Rai Vloet (PSV) en Lucas Woudenberg (Feyenoord).

The U-19 tournament will see Netherlands face hosts Lithuania, holders Spain and Portugal in their group, with the matches underway on the 20th of July.

admin (6141 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter