Utrecht have finally won in 2019 after a late penalty saw them defeat De Graafschap 1-0.

Dick Advocaat was hoping that last weekend’s draw with PSV would give Utrecht confidence to end their winless run.

Utrecht were the better side in the first half but they couldn’t find the opener despite Michiel Kramer and Simon Gustafson going close.

De Graafschap looked more dangerous in the second half through Charlison Benschop but the best chances fell to Utrecht.

Fifteen minutes from time the deadlock was finally broken from the penalty spot after Jean-Christophe Bahebeck was brought down. Gustafson made no mistake from the spot to make it 1-0.

Just before the end, De Graafschap thought they were going to be awarded a penalty for a pull by Timo Letschert on Serrarens but Kevin Blom and VAR ruled it wasn’t a foul.

The win means Utrecht are now sixth, while De Graafschap remains 17th.

admin (12568 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter