The provisional Netherlands squad for the World Cup has been named by Louis van Gaal.

The World Cup is now only weeks away and Van Gaal has confirmed the 39 players that make up his provisional squad.

PSV Eindhoven youngster Xavi Simons is in the squad after a fine start to the campaign along with other potential debutantes such as Micky van de Ven (Wolfsburg), Sven Botman (Newcastle United), Mitchel Bakker (Bayer Leverkusen), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen) and Pascal Struijk (Leeds United).

Some players to miss out on a squad place are Joey Veerman (PSV), Jerdy Schouten (Bologna), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord) and Joel Veltman (Brighton).

Ajax is the main supplier to the national team with nine players, while PSV contributes four.

The final 26-man squad will be announced on the 11th of November. Netherlands begin their World Cup campaign ten days later against Senegal.

admin (14441 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter