Dick Advocaat has named his Netherlands squad for the final two World Cup qualifiers against Belarus and Sweden. 

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

Oranje need two wins against Belarus and Sweden in two weeks to have any chance of reaching the play-offs for the 2018 World Cup.

Advocaat named his squad on Friday morning with Besiktas forward Ryan Babel earning his first call-up since 2011 while Jurgen Locadia is chosen over Klaas-Jan Huntelaar after his four goals against Utrecht at the weekend.

Wesley Sneijder, Quincy Promes, Jeremain Lens, Jens Toornstra, Virgil van Dijk and Robin van Persie have all been left out, while there was no surprise call-up for Feyenoord midfielder Sofyan Amrabat. The KNVB is currently in a tug of war with Morocco over the midfielder’s international future.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers:  Jasper Cillessen (Barcelona), Maarten Stekelenburg (Everton), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Nathan Aké (AFC Bournemouth), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Wesley Hoedt (Southampton), Daryl Janmaat (Watford), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax), Karim Rekik (Hertha BSC), Kenny Tete (Olympique Lyon), Joël Veltman (Ajax)

Midfielders: Donny van de Beek (Ajax), Marco van Ginkel (PSV), Davy Klaassen (Everton), Davy Pröpper (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Attackers: Ryan Babel (Besiktas), Memphis Depay (Olympique Lyon), Bas Dost (Sporting Lisbon), Vincent Janssen (Fenerbahçe), Jürgen Locadia (PSV), Arjen Robben (Bayern Münich)

admin (13844 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter