Louis van Gaal has named his provisional Netherlands squad for next months World Cup qualifiers, with Nigel De Jong, and Gregory van der Wiel involved.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

van der wiel aNetherlands finish their qualifying campaign against Turkey, and Hungary next month, with a place in next years World Cup already secured.

Both Gregory van der Wiel, and Nigel de Jong have not appeared for their country for over a year, but they are in with a chance of featuring after being named in the provisional squad.

Also back are Newcastle United goalkeeper Tim Krul, Feyenoord midfielder Jordy Clasie, and Swansea’s Jonathan de Guzman. Wesley Sneijder is also involved once again.

The provisional squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Jeroen Zoet (PSV).

Defence: Daley Blind (Ajax), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV), Daryl Janmaat, Bruno Martins Indi, Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Gregory van der Wiel (Paris Saint-Germain), Jetro Willems (PSV).

Midfield: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Stijn Schaars (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Kevin Strootman (AS Roma), Rafael van der Vaart (HSV)

Attack: Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dinamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Ruben Schaken (Feyenoord), Ricky van Wolfswinkel (Norwich City)

admin (14486 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter