PSV Eindhoven, Feyenoord, PEC Zwolle and FC Twente were all involved in Friday’s Europa League play-off draw.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

europa leaThe four Eredivisie sides were handed their final hurdle before the competition enters its knockout phase on Friday, with PSV, Feyenoord, and Twente seeded for the draw, while PEC Zwolle were unseeded.

After falling out of the Champions League after defeat by Besiktas, Feyenoord will face Ukrainian side Zorya Luhansk, who finished 7th in their domestic league last season. Zorya beat Norwegian side Molde 3-2 on aggregate to reach this round.

PSV, who came through Austrian side St Polten in the last round have been Belarusian side FC Shakhtor Salihorsk, who qualified for the competition after coming 2nd in their league. Shakhtor pulled off a shock in the last round by eliminating Belgian side Zulte Waregem 7-4 on aggregate.

Twente, who finished third in the Eredivisie last season have been paired with Azerbaijani side Qarabag, who were champions of their domestic league last season. Qarabag were eliminated from the Champions League by Red Bull Salzburg.

Playing in their first ever European campaign, PEC Zwolle have been handed the toughest draw off all the Dutch clubs after being paired with Czech side Sparta Prague. The Czech champions were eliminated from the Champions League by Malmo.

All four Dutch clubs will play their first leg ties on the 21st of August with the 2nd leg a week later.

admin (14384 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter