The 2017 FIFA Awards gala took place on Monday night with Dutch women Lieke Martens and Sarina Wiegman among the winners.

At the FIFA Gala in London, all the biggest stars in football were in attendance to see Barcelona winger Lieke Martens named women’s player of the year, while Netherlands national team boss Sarina Wiegman won women’s coach of the year.

The awards cap an excellent year for women’s football in the Netherlands after the Oranje vrouwenelftal won the 2017 European Championships.

Wiegman guided Netherlands to their first major tournament win in women’s football, while Lieke Martens was named player of the tournament after some excellent displays.

admin (13844 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter