FIFA has accepted a request from the Surinamese Football Association to allow five Dutch-Suriname players eligibility to represent the nation.

FIFA had initially rejected the request but on Wednesday, the Suriname football association confirmed on Twitter that the decision had been overturned.

It now means that Kelvin Leerdam (Seattle Sounders), Ryan Donk (Galatasaray), Diego Biseswar (Apollon Limassol), Miquel Nelom (Willem II), and Mitchell Donald (BB Erzurumspor) are allowed to represent the nation.

It is a big boost for head coach Dean Gorré who is preparing for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers. According to reports, Suriname are also hoping to convince Jairo Riedewald to represent the nation despite his past with the Dutch national team.

admin (14142 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter