Netherlands boss Guus Hiddink has named his provisional squad for next month’s friendly against USA and the crucial European Championships qualifier in Latvia.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

Berghuis azjjffNetherlands face the United States on June 5th, before travelling to Riga a week later for the crucial European Championships qualifier against Latvia. Hiddink will welcome the 30-man provisional squad for training on the 26th of May before deciding on his final squad three days later.

Included in a Netherlands squad for the first time are AZ Alkmaar’s winger Steven Berghuis, and Groningen midfielder Tjaronn Chery, while Vitesse’s Davy Propper could be in line for his first cap. There are no place for the injured duo Arjen Robben and Stefan de Vrij or Olympiakos midfielder Ibrahim Afellay, but Hiddink welcomes back captain Robin van Persie.

The squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Jeroen Zoet (PSV), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord)

Defenders: Karim Rekik (PSV), Bruno Martins Indi (Porto), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Jetro Willems (PSV), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV), Gregory van der Wiel (PSG), Sven van Beek (Feyenoord)

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Tjaronn Chery (Groningen), Davy Propper (Vitesse), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Leroy Fer (QPR)

Attackers: Memphis Depay (PSV), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Bas Dost (Wolfsburg), Klaas jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Steven Berghuis (AZ), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev)

admin (14448 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter