Danny Blind has announced his 28-man provisional squad for Netherlands upcoming friendlies with England and France. AZ striker Vincent Janssen is included.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

janssen oranAfter the disappointment of not reaching Euro 2016 this summer, Netherlands begin their preparation for the start of the 2018 World Cup qualifiers later this year with two friendlies against England and France. The Oranje host France on March 25th, before travelling to England four days later for a tie at Wembley.

Included in the squad for the first time are Utrecht centre back Timo Letschert, Ajax left back Mitchell Dijks, and AZ striker Vincent Janssen, who has been firing on all cylinders this season. PSV midfielder Davy Propper also receives a deserved recall, but their are no places for Anwar El Ghazi, Leroy Fer, Bruno Martins Indi or former captain Robin van Persie.

The full squad is as follows. Blind announces his final selection next week.

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord), Jeroen Zoet (PSV)

Defenders: Jeffrey Bruma (PSV), van Dijk Virgil (Southampton), Mitchell Dijks (Ajax), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Timo Letschert (FC Utrecht), Erik Pieters (Stoke City), Joël Veltman (Ajax), Ron Vlaar (AZ), Jetro Willems (PSV)

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Stoke City) Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jordy Clasie (Southampton), Davy Pröpper (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (Newcastle United)

Forwards:  Memphis Depay (Manchester United), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Vincent Janssen (AZ), Luuk de Jong (PSV), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Jürgen Locadia (PSV), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)

admin (14450 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter