UEFA have announced the groups for the forthcoming UEFA Nations League with Netherlands amongst the top nations in Group A.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

Despite not reaching the World Cup, Netherlands wins over Belarus and Sweden have seen them sneak into the top seeds for the new tournament, which will offer a route to EURO 2020.

Oranje are in Group A alongside Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, France, England, Switzerland, Italy, Poland, Iceland, and Croatia.

According to UEFA’s website:

  • The teams will be split into four groups of three next January, with the group winners then contesting the UEFA Nations League Finals (semi-finals, third-place match and final) in June 2019 to become the UEFA Nations League winners. One host country will be appointed in December 2018 from among the finalist teams.
  • The four sides that finish bottom of their groups will be relegated to League B for the 2020 edition.
  • The top four-ranked League A teams that do not qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 will enter play-offs in March 2020, with one finals place on offer.

The Group Stage draw takes place on the 24th of January.

admin (13844 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter