PSV Eindhoven has booked their place in the Europa League group stages after a 2-0 victory over Rosenborg in Norway.

Roger Schmidt was able to hand a debut to Eran Zahavi in Norway, while Bruma dropped to the bench. Mohammed Ihattaren was also replaced by Mauro Junior.

In the 20th minute, Zahavi was denied by the post before the striker did make it 1-0 soon after with a header from Donyell Malen’s cross.

PSV lost Ryan Thomas to injury but still remained in control. Just before the break, Rosenborg went close to equalising, but the ball went just past Yvon Mvogo’s goal.

Rosenborg improved after the break but on the hour, PSV settled the victory with Cody Gakpo firing in a second after a Zahavi pass.

PSV now books their place in the Europa League group stage draw, which takes place on Friday. They will be joined by Feyenoord and AZ Alkmaar.

admin (11289 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter