Suriname’s national team have been given a boost with seven former Netherlands youth internationals choosing to represent the nation.

Recently, it was announced that Netherlands players with Suriname roots can represent the nation without having to surrender their Dutch passport.

Nigel Hasselbaink was the first to make the switch to Suriname and he has been joined by seven other former Netherlands youth internationals.

Kelvin Leerdam (Seattle Sounders), Ryan Donk (Galatasaray), Tjaronn Chery (Maccabi Haifa), Florian Jozefzoon (Derby County), Diego Biseswar (PAOK Saloniki), Mitchell Donald (Evkur Yeni Malatyaspor) and Miquel Nelom (Willem II) ) will all now represent Suriname, who recently qualified for the 2021 Gold Cup.

admin (14493 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter