Ajax stars Ricardo Kishna, Jairo Riedewald and Daley Sinkgraven have all pulled out of the Netherlands U21 squad for the Toulon Tournament which starts later this month.

  • By Michael Bell
  • Follow Michael on Twitter

kishna aowCoach Remy Reijnierse had already seen six Feyenoord players pull out of the squad on Wednesday due to the end of season play-offs, while Yassin Ayoub and Hidde Jurjus were also forced to miss the tournament.

Now Kishna, Riedewald and Sinkgraven will all miss the tournament due to injury, with Twente’s Jelle van der Heyden called up as a replacement.

The available members of the squad will meet up for their first training session on Wednesday, with Reijnierse set to whittle his squad down from 23 players to 20 by the end of the week. Netherlands begin the tournament on the 27th of May against Costa Rica, before facing Qatar, France and the USA.

The 23 man squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers : Jesse Bertrams (PSV), Menno Heus (FC Utrecht), Timo Plattel (FC Twente)

Defenders : Peet Bees (FC Twente), Hans Hateboer (FC Groningen), Wesley Beware (AZ), Bas Kuipers (Excelsior), Derrick Luck Assen (AZ), Kenny Tete (Ajax), Jordy de Point (PSV)

Midfielders : Danny Baker (ADO Den Haag), Thom Haye (AZ), Jelle van der Heyden (FC Twente), Sean Klaiber (FC Dordrecht), Clint Leemans (PSV), Joris van Overeem (FC Dordrecht), Rai Vloet (PSV ) Django Warmerdam (Ajax)

Attackers : Brahim Darri (Heracles Almelo), Anwar El Ghazi (Ajax), Vincent Janssen (Almere City FC), Elvio van Overbeek (PSV), Mohamed Rayhi (PSV)

admin (14131 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter