Two goals in the last five minutes saw Vitesse Arnhem record a 2-0 victory over ten-man ADO Den Haag.

Vitesse went into the game looking for their first home victory since August, but without Milot Rashica, who missed the tie and was replaced in the line up by Mitchell van Bergen.

It was familiar viewing for the home crowd in the first half as Vitesse struggled to create anything of note, while ADO Den Haag were also toothless in the attack at the other end.

Early in the second half, Vitesse were awarded a penalty after a foul by Danny Bakker on Navarone Foor. Tim Matavz took it, but his poor effort was saved by Robert Zwinkels. The woodwork then prevented the hosts twice as Mason Mount hit the post with a free-kick before substitute Luc Castaignos saw an effort come off the bar.

With twenty minutes to go, ADO Den Haag right-back Tyronne Ebuehi was sent off for his second yellow card and eventually, Vitesse took advantage. With three minutes left, a Mount corner was headed into the net by Matt Miazga.

Van Bergen was then denied by Zwinkels before Bryan Linssen sealed the victory in injury time with a breakaway goal.

Vitesse climb up to sixth while ADO Den Haag drop to 11th.

admin (13844 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter