UEFA has announced that the qualifying rounds for the Champions League and Europa League will be played in August, which could lead to problems for the Dutch clubs.

At the moment, football is banned in the Netherlands until the 1st of September, with the Dutch government so far not willing to move that date.

AZ Alkmaar (Champions League), PSV Eindhoven (Europa League), and Willem II (Europa League) will all enter the qualifying rounds, which are set to begin in August. It is unclear how this will work for the Dutch clubs at the moment, although PSV go into the third qualifying round of the Europa League which is set for September.

The games are also set to be played over one leg, instead of two. That is apart from the playoffs for the Champions League which will remain two-legged.

Feyenoord are heading straight for the Europa League group stage, while Ajax will be in the Champions League group stages as long as this years winner qualifies for the tournament directly.

The qualifying rounds in the Champions League

Preliminary round of the preliminary round: August 8 and 11.

First qualifying round: August 18/19.

Second qualifying round: August 25/26.

Third qualifying round: September 15/16.

Playoffs: September 22/23 and September 29/30.

The qualifying rounds in the Europa League:

Preliminary round of the preliminary round: August 20.

First qualifying round: August 27.

Second qualifying round: September 17.

Third qualifying round: September 24.

Playoffs: October 1.

admin (13237 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter