Lionel Messi has beaten Virgil van Dijk to lift the Ballon d’Or trophy this year.

Virgil van Dijk was believed to be a big challenger to Messi for the trophy after an excellent year for both Liverpool and the Dutch national team.

However, the Oranje captain finished as runner-up to the Barcelona legend, who takes home the Ballon d’Or trophy for the sixth time in his career. He was presented the trophy by Luka Modric, who won last year.

Frenkie de Jong finished 11th in the voting, Matthijs De Ligt 14th, Dusan Tadic 20th, Georginio Wijnaldum 26th and Donny van de Beek 28th.

admin (13225 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter