Liverpool have been crowned Premier League champions after Manchester City lost to Chelsea on Thursday night.

After Liverpool defeated Crystal Palace on Wednesday, the club moved 23 points clear at the top. Only a win for Manchester City against Chelsea could have prevented the title from being sealed until the weekend.

However, Chelsea won 2-1, sealing Liverpool’s first-ever Premier League title since the league was renamed in 1992, and their first league title since 1990.

It is also a first Premier League trophy for Georginio Wijnaldum and Virgil van Dijk. Wijnaldum had won league titles with PSV Eindhoven, while Van Dijk won several with Scottish side Celtic.

Liverpool still have seven league games still to play.

admin (13250 Posts)

Follow @Footballoranje_ on Twitter